MY LAND, MY LAST

Posted: August 2, 2015 in THE NEGRO
Tags: , , , ,

image

Me tse dan mu so me nan gu paado,
I shame myself with who I have become
Collating my acts of good will
Has never been a problem
Not because I can pin point them,
But because there is none.
I grew up with the heart of a lamb
Soft enough to be the cloth of an ant.
Where am I now?
I guess you might brood over that.

I take my seat on the mountain of corruption
Crowned with the riches of the peasant
My trusted bank account
Strangling the nation to death;
Was the sole aim
The cries of hardship never ventured my door.
For I am in myself, hardship.
Swimming in the sweats of the emaciated bones
For Christ’s sake!!
What is their worth?

I was the spearhead of patriotism
Was I not? Truly I was
Did I not buy things?
Were they no Vats and taxes on them?
How patriotic again could I be?
At least they had their “tokens”
A fair deal that is.
We all go home satisfied.
I guess I’m not cruel?
What else could a patriotic citizen do?

Mpayinfo se aboa onnyi dua no,
Nyame na )pra no ho.
It baffles me, I was not the “aboa”
The nation I rotted and looted
Still had a lifeline.
You that is coming
Yes you! You that is bribing,
Yes you! You that is destroying,
This is our land, our home, my home.
This is our burial ground.

Swim not into the sea of darkness
Ride not on the tears of the poor
Reap not riches you never planted.
Have not the sweats of the weak as thine comfort.
You are the nation
The nation is you
Everyday for the thief, one day for the master.
Your day of reckoning approaches.
Who am I to advice?
But who are you to rob someone of his dime?

All copyrights reserved Haymaker ©2015

Leave a Reply

